Four Irish authors, Booker and Pulitzer winners on Dublin Literary Award longlist:

Colum McCann, Joseph O’Connor, Anne Griffin, Eibhear Walshe in for €100,000 prize



Libraries worldwide have nominated four Irish authors, two Booker Prize winners and a Pulitzer Prize winner for this year’s €100,000 Dublin Literary Award.

The longlist, which was announced this morning, includes 18 novels in translation with works nominated by libraries from 30 countries. It features 49 novels, including 10 debuts, significantly down on last year’s record of 156 titles, a consequence of the pandemic shutting libraries and a tightening of entry rules.

The Irish titles nominated are: Shadowplay by Joseph O’Connor, Irish Novel of the Year in 2019; When All Is Said by Anne Griffin, the bestselling Irish debut of 2019; The Trumpet Shall Sound by Eibhear Walshe, a coup in particular for Somerville Press, the only Irish publisher on the longlist; and Apeirogon by Colum McCann, which was longlisted for last year’s Booker Prize. McCann won the award in 2011 for Let the Great World Spin.